Malakwen, Kimutai Post Wins at 2014 Quad Cities Marathon

Complete results from Online Race Results, click here


MOLINE, IL - Sammy Malakwen (Kenya) made a decisive move in the 19th mile to pull away from the field and win the 2014 Quad Cities Marathon, presented by Triumph Community Bank. Malakwen finished the 26.2 mile course in 2:15:42, the second best time ever at the QCM. Malakwen averaged 5:10 pace per mile. Ruth Kimutai (Kenya) led from wire-to-wire in the women's race to win in 2:42:27, the 10th best time ever in the women's race. Kimutai averaged 6:12 pace per mile. The 17th annual race was run under sunny sky, with little wind, and temperature in the 60's.

The men's field featured a five man breakaway pack from the early stages. The group contained: Malakwen, Philemon Terer (Kenya), Abraham Chelanga (Kenya), Benjamin Metto (Kenya), and Tesfaye Alemayehu (Ethiopia). The pack cruised through the half marathon point in 1:07:34. By the 20th mile mark Malakwen opened a 10-second lead on Terer at 1:42:59. Malakwen held the pace through the finish line running 1:08:08 for his second half of the run en route to the 2:15:42.

Terer held on for second in 2:17:37, the fifth best time in race history. Chelanga ran a solid 2:19:01 for third. All three dipped under the time bonus standard of 2:22:00. Metto claimed fourth in 2:22:36, while Edward Tabut (Kenya) rounded out the top-5 in 2:26:30. Terer holds the course record at 2:14:04 from 2013.

The top three masters men included: Francesco Arato (West Chicago, IL) in 3:04:31, Scott Conway (Castalia, IA) in 3:08:10, and Keith Browing (Bolingbrook, IL) in 3:10:04.

Kimutai held a 3:30 lead at the mid-way point with a 1:18:30 first half of the race. Her lead was over five minutes by 20 miles, before crossing in 2:42:27. She set the largest margin of victory in women's history at the QCM, she was the only female to collect the sub-2:48 time bonus. Lauren Versweyveld (Ft. Worth, TX) made her marathon debut memorable with a second-place overall finish in a solid 2:54:25. Versweyveld ran in second throughout the entire race. She won the 2013 QCM Ruhl & Ruhl Half title.

Laurie Cass (Plymouth, MA) placed third overall and first in the master's division in 3:07:47. Nikki Cahen (Milwaukee, WI) was fourth overall in 3:09:14. Gail Illich (Lincoln, NE) was fifth overall and second masters in 3:15:48. Mary Flaws (Waukesha, WI) was third in the masters race in 3:20:25. 

The women's course record was set in 2012 by Hirut Guangul in 2:35:07.

The top local finisher for the men was Julius Cortez (Rock Island, IL) in 2:57:27 and the top local woman was Allison Pitt (Davenport, IA) in 3:27:58.

Ruhl & Ruhl Half: Towett Takes Men's Title, Batterink Hammers Women's Course Record

George Towett (Kenya) captured the overall men's title in the Ruhl & Ruhl Half Marathon in 1:09:19. Towett opened with a 32:02 first 10k and never looked back en route to a 3:02 final margin over the field. He averaged 5:17 pace per mile on the day. The men's record belongs to Kenya's Robert Wambua (2012) at 1:05:03.

Laura Batterink (Evanston, IL) had an impressive run through the Half course, finishing with a course record 1:14:23. She ran 35:09 for her first 10k, holding a 50-second lead at that point. She averaged 5:40 pace per mile for the day. Batterink set a personal best in the race and ended up with a 3:50 margin over the runner-up in the race. The previous course record belonged to Kenya's Pauline Mutwa (2012) at 1:16:16.

Zakayo Biwot (Kenya) finished second in the men's field at 1:12:21, while Sam Bradley (Peoria, IL) was a close third in 1:12:22.

Cynthia Jerop (Kenya) finished second in the women's field at 1:18:13, while Kristy Harken (Ankeny, IA) was third overall in 1:29:07.

The top local runners in the half were: Jerry Lack, from East Moline, IL, (men) in 1:22:17 and Ali Kirsch, from Davenport, IA, (women) in 1:29:52.

The event set a record for total entries (all races) with 5,733 registered.




1. Sammy Malakwen, Kenya, 2:15:42
2. Philemon Terer, Kenya, 2:17:37
3. Abraham Chelanga, Kenya, 2:19:01
4. Benjamin Metto, Kenya, 2:22:36
5. Edward Tabut, Kenya, 2:26:50
6. Coree Woltering, 2:37:13
7. Daniel Whipple, 2:42:09
8. Phil McNeal, 2:47:14
9. Mark Thompson, 2:55:22
10. Julius Cortez, 2:57:24


1. Ruth Kimutai, Kenya, 2:42:27
2. Lauren Versweyveld, Ft. Worth, TX, 2:54:25
3. Laurie Cass, Plymouth, MA, 3:07:47
4. Nikki Cahen, Milwaukee, WI, 3:09:14
5. Gail Illich, Lincoln, NE, 3:15:48
6. Apryl Campbell, 3:17:01
7. Lisa Teunissen, 3:18:45
8. Mary Flaws, 3:20:02
9. Talva Parker, 3:27:45
10. Allison Pitt, 3:27:49


1. Francesco Arato, West Chicago, IL, 3:04:31
2. Scott Conway, Castalia, IA, 3:08:10
3. Keith Browning, Bolingbrook, IL, 3:10:04


1. Laurie Cass, Plymouth, MA, 3:07:47
2. Gail Illich, Lincoln, NE, 3:15:48
3. Mary Flaws, Waukesha, WI, 3:20:25


Men: Julius Cortez, Rock Island, IL, 2:57:27
Women: Allison Pitt, Davenport, IA, 3:27:58


1. George Towett, Kenya, 1:09:19
2. Zakayo Biwot, Kenya, 1:12:21
3. Sam Bradley, Peoria, IL, 1:12:22


1. Laura Batterink, Evanston, IL, 1:14:23 (Course Record)
2. Cynthia Jerop, Kenya, 1:18:13
3. Kristy Harken, Ankeny, IA, 1:29:07


Men: Jerry Lack, East Moline, IL, 1:22:17
Women: Ali Kirsch, Davenport, IA, 1:29:52


1. Damon Bautista, 17:28
2. Michael Converse, 17:38
3. Adam McPherson, 17:49


1. Maya Stovall, 19:32
2. Kelley Timmerman, 20:17
3. Audrey Jenkins, 20:57


Below: Race Day Photos - Including Marathon winners Sammy Malakwen (9) and Ruth Kimutai (6)