

POST RACE REPORT

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

SEPT. 24, 2023

<u>KIPKEMEI MAKES LATE RACE SURGE TO WIN MEN'S RACE; AREBA DEFENDS WOMEN'S TITLE WITH BIG</u> <u>WIN AT TBK BANK QUAD CITIES MARATHON</u>

MOLINE, IL – A late surge during the final 10K propelled **Abraham Talam Kipkemei (Kenya)** to a 2:16:37 finish and overall title at Sunday's TBK Bank Quad Cities Marathon. **Damaris Areba (Kenya)** opened her lead in the fourth mile and never looked back enroute to her 2:32:18 win, some 15 minutes ahead of second place.





Abraham Talam Kipkemei wins the TBK Bank men's marathon (photo JR Howell)..

Damaris Areba wins the TBK Bank women's marathon (photo JR Howell)..

The men's race had an initial lead pack of five runners, opening the first 10K at 32:30 and running 1:08:50 through the half marathon. Just after this point, Kipkemei, along with **Nicholas Chelimo (Kenya)**

and **Kiplangat Terer (Kenya)** worked together in a three-man group. The trio continued together through 20 miles at 1:44:11. Kipkemei made his move on Arsenal Island and broke the pack at that point. Chelimo placed second in 2:18:41, while Terer was third in 2:18:59.

Matt Lorenz (Swisher, IA) was sixth early, but reeled in runners down the stretch to finish fourth with a solid 2:22:25. **Luke Kibet (Kenya)** rounded out the top-5 in 2:24:57.

Kipkemei ran the 10th fastest time ever in QCM history, averaging 5:12 per mile pace. The event record is held by Terer, from 2013, at 2:14:04.

In the best master's field in race history, Kipkemei broke the master's event record with his 2:16:37. The old standard was 2:30:52. Chelimo (2:18:41) and Kibet (2:24:57) placed second and third, respectively, to also did under the old mark.

Areba had a solid solo effort on the course with a 35:30 opening 10K, a 1:14:54 half split, a 1:54:54 mark at the 20-mile, before cruising in with her 2:32:18. The time was the second-best in race history. Areba holds the event record from a 2:30:29 win last year. Areba also broke the QCM record for largest margin of victory at 15:15. She ran 5:48 pace per mile.

Agnes Amuron (Uganda) was pulling away into sole possession of second by the half marathon (1:18:42), she finished out with a 2:47:33 for the runner-up position. Six-time former champion Hirut Guangul (Ethiopia) ran strong in contention for 16 miles, in a top-3 position, before withdrawing from the field. Polina Hodnette (Chicago, IL) and Purity Munene (Kenya) did run near each other for most of the race, including a 2:11:40 split at 20 miles. Hodnette then surged over the final 10K to secure third overall in 2:52:56. Munene was fourth in 2:58:19. Anne Terranova (Glendale, WI) rounded out the top-5 overall in 3:00:06.

Terranova won the master's division on the day. Julia Adams (Peoria, IL) was second in 3:14:52 and Evance Stalley (Chicago, IL) placed third in 3:25:22.

Honors for the top local marathon runners went to **Phil Young (Davenport, IA)** at 2:59:22 and **Alyssa Farrell (LeClaire, IA)** at 3:13:41.

MARCOS, KWAMBOKA WIN MEN FOSTER CO. HALF MARATHON TITLES

MOLINE, IL – Jaime Marcos (Charleston, IL) ran strong late to win the men's Mel Foster Co. Half Marathon Sunday in 1:05:18. **Flavious Kwamboka (Kenya)** came from behind to run 1:19:05 to record a 26-second win in the overall women's race. Marcos ran 4:58 pace per mile, while Kwamboka averaged 6:01.



Jaime Marcos wins the 2023 Mel Foster Co. men's half marathon (photo JR Howell).

Flavious Kwamboka is the 2023 women's Mel Foster Co. half marathon champion (photo JR Howell).

The event records in the half were untouched at 1:04:47 (men) and 1:14:23 (women).

Marcos was even with **Devin Allbaugh (Bettendorf, IA)** with a 30:50 opening 10K. Allbaugh finished with a solid effort and 1:06:45 finish time. **Jesse Davis (Omaha, NE)** rounded out the podium with his third place 1:08:11 time.

Brooke Slayman (Solon, IA) was an early leader in the women's race and posted a 36:05 opening 10K, she finished second overall at 1:19:31. Third place belonged to **Stephanie Brokaw (Macomb, IL)** with a 1:24:24 effort.

The top local half runners were Allbaugh, for the men, and **Marie Feehan (Bettendorf, IA)** on the women's side in 1:25:42.

TOP FINISHERS AT THE 2023 QCM:

MEN'S MARATHON

1.	Abraham Talem Kipkemei	Kenya	2:16:37
2.	Nicholas Chelimo	Kenya	2:18:41
3.	Kiplangat Terer	Kenya	2:18:59
4.	Matt Lorenz	Swisher, IA	2:22:25
5.	Luke Kibet	Kenya	2:24:57

WOMEN'S MARATHON

3. 4.	Damaris Areba Agnes Amuron Polina Hodnette Purity Munene Anne Terranova	Kenya Uganda Chicago, IL Kenya Glendale, WI	2:32:18 2:47:33 2:52:56 2:58:19 3:00:06			
MEN'S MASTERS MARATHON						
1. 2. 3.		Kenya Kenya Kenya	2:16:37 2:18:41 2:24:57	* EVENT RECORD		
WOME	EN'S MASTERS MARATHON					
2.	Anne Terranova Julia Adams Evance Stalley	Glendale, WI Peoria, IL Chicago, IL	3:00:06 3:14:52 3:25:22			
MEN'S	MEN'S LOCAL MARATHON					
2.	Phil Young Mike Ferguson Philip Moe	Davenport, IA Davenport, IA Geneseo, IL	2:59:22 3:09:34 3:14:41			
WOMEN'S LOCAL MARATHON						
2.	Alyssa Farrell Sarah Vermillion Katie Nimrod	LeClaire, IA Eldridge, IA Bettendorf, IA	3:13:41 3:29:40 3:42:32			
MEN'S	HALF MARATHON					
	Jaime Marcos Devin Allbaugh Jesse Davis	Charleston, IL Bettendorf, IA Omaha, NE	1:05:08 1:06:45 1:08:11			
WOMEN'S HALF MARATHON						
1. 2. 3.		Kenya Solon, IA Macomb, IL	1:19:05 1:19:31 1:24:24			
MEN'S LOCAL HALF MARATHON						
1. 2. 3.	Devin Allbaugh Mike Gille Dan Froeschle	Bettendorf, IA Bettendorf, IA Davenport, IA	1:06:45 1:08:44 1:09:28			

WOMEN'S LOCAL HALF MARATHON

1. 2. 3.	Marie Feehan Josie Brown Laura Miller	Bettendorf, IA Geneseo, IL Bettendorf, IA	1:25:42 1:28:52 1:29:24			
MEN'S 5K						
1. 2. 3.	Rob Arsenault Jay Schalk Jackson Connors	Aledo, IL Davenport, IA Davenport, IA	18:12 18:48 19:08			
WOMEN'S 5K						
1. 2. 3.	Alysha Bartosh Noni Casillas Isabella Ruhl	Clinton, IA Davenport, IA Davenport, IA	21:09 21:40 21:42			
MEN'S MILE						
1. 2. 3.	Phil Young Ben Lloyd David Thompson	4:44 4:48 4:54				
WOMEN'S MILE						
1. 2. 3.	Amy Brogren Emma Beardsley Eleanor Goodin	6:08 6:52 6:59				
MARATHON RELAY WINNERS						
	Men - Running Wild Elite Women – Running Wild Elite	2:25:35 2:54:33				